Special Election Report: The Impact of Ohio Election Results on Independent Agents 

Nov. 9, 2022
Lauren Reid, Government Affairs Manager, Ohio Insurance Agents Association, Inc.

First, we want to say thank you for your generous and loyal support to OIAPAC. Your contributions showed direct success in candidate victories in Ohio at the Supreme Court, Legislature, and Statewide Offices. As you know, OIAPAC supports candidates with pro-business views that promote a strong economy and competitive insurance market. We know looking ahead into 2023 that many of the candidates elected yesterday will fulfill the values we hold dear and protect the independent agency system.  

2022 General Election Recap 

Yesterday’s election generated 51% voter turnout, with record breaking early voting with 1.55 million Ohioans requesting an absentee ballot or casting their ballot early in-person.  

Voter drop-off was at an all time low of 2% for Supreme Court Candidates from 16% in 2020. Raising the position of Supreme Court candidates on the ballot and distinguishing their party affiliation for the first time seemed to have played a critical role in this election.  

Republicans Sweep Supreme Court Races 

Republican Justice Sharon Kennedy will be the next Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Kennedy defeated Justice Jennifer Brunner by a margin of 56.3% – 43.7%. Brunner will remain on the court going into 2023 and Governor DeWine will appoint a replacement to Kennedy’s seat once she transitions to the Chief Justice in the new year.  

Justices Pat DeWine and Pat Fischer were also re-elected for another term, defeating Marilyn Zayas and Terri Jamison by margins of 56.5% – 43.5% and 57.2% – 42.9%. 

Another 4 Years for Governor Mike DeWine and other Statewide Officials 

Governor Mike DeWine and Lieutenant Governor Jon Husted were reelected by a 25.4% margin over Nan Whaley and Cheryl Stephens. In addition, incumbent Republicans swept all statewide executive offices.  

Attorney General: Dave Yost (R) defeated Jeff Crossman (D) 60.4% – 39.6% 
Auditor of State: Keith Faber (R) defeated Taylor Sappington (D) 59% – 41% 
Secretary of State: Frank LaRose (R) defeated Chelsea Clark (D) and Terpsehore Tore Maras 59.5% – 39.4% – 1% 
Treasurer or State: Robert Sprague (R) defeated Scott Schertzer 58.8% – 41.2% 

Ohio General Assembly Furthers Supermajority 

The Ohio General Assembly will remain firmly controlled by Republicans. In the Ohio House, House Republicans have increased their supermajority by picking up four seats leading to a 68-31 majority heading into the 135th General Assembly in January. Although, that breakdown could slightly change as additional votes are counted as Ronald Beach IV (R) holds a 96-vote lead over incumbent Richard Brown (D). The race falls within the half-point margin that triggers and automatic recount under Ohio Law. 

In the Ohio Senate, Republicans look to have a 26-7 supermajority next year. The largest Republican majority since 1951.  

Independent insurance agents will be well-represented in the 135th Ohio General Assembly with the re-election of three OIA members: State Reps. Jason Stephens, Brian Lampton, and Jessica Miranda. We are proud that Reps. Stephens, Lampton, and Miranda are members of our association, and we look forward to the opportunity to work with them again next year. 

Vance Defeats Ryan; Democrats win Congressional District in Cincinnati 

Republican JD Vance will head to the U.S. Senate next year replacing retiring Senator Rob Portman. Vance’s victory comes from a well-fought campaign against Democratic Congressman Tim Ryan by a margin of 53.3% – 46.7%. 

Next year, Ohio’s delegation in the U.S. House of Representatives will consist of 10 Republicans and 5 Democrats. Cincinnati City Councilman Greg Landsman (D) defeated longtime Congressman Steve Chabot (R) by a margin of 52.5%-47.5%. The other new faces in Congress includes State Rep. Emilia Sykes (D) who defeated Madison Gesiotto Gilbert (R) by a margin of 52.6% – 47.4%. As well as former President Trump aide Max Miller (R) who defeated opponent Matthew Diemer for the seat of retiring Congressman Anthony Gonzalez.  

Thank You OIAPAC Contributors 

Again, thank you OIPAC contributors! Your investment helps strengthen OIA’s advocacy efforts and get insurance friendly candidates to represent you, your business, and your clients in state and federal government.  

If you have any questions regarding the 2022 election results or want to learn more, please reach out.  

Kind regards,  

Lauren Reid
Direct: (614) 552-3040

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: